Governor Names Three Business Executives to Texas A&M University System Board of Regents

Michael A. "Mike" Hernandez III

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott appointed three new members to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on Friday.

Jay Graham, Mike Hernandez and Michael J. Plank will replace Charles W. Schwartz, Tony Buzbee and Morris Foster, whose terms expired Feb. 1.

The new regents’ terms will expire Feb. 1, 2025.

Graham of Houston is chairman and CEO of Spur Energy Partners and is a member of the Texas A&M School of Petroleum Engineering Industry Advisory Board, College of Engineering Advisory Council, 12th Man Foundation Board of Directors and the Chancellor’s Century Council. He received a Bachelor of Science in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M University.

Hernandez of Fort Worth is owner and CEO of D&M Leasing, and owner and dealer principal of Four Stars Ford, Four Stars Chevrolet Buick, Four Stars Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram, and Four Stars Toyota. He is a member of National Automobile Dealers Association and the Texas Automobile Dealers Association. Hernandez received a Bachelor of Science in industrial distribution from Texas A&M University.

Plank of Houston is chairman and CEO of The Plank Companies Inc. and three affiliated companies: National Property Holdings, Rail Logix and Speed Shore Corp. He is a gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Governor’s University Research Initiative Board. Additionally, he is a member of Texas A&M’s Engineering Advisory Board. Plank received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Texas A&M University, where he was named a Distinguished Graduate of the Mechanical Engineering department in 2000.

All regents appointments by the governor are subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top